Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with West of Scotland Cricket Club

View

George Dickson RIP

10 months ago By Jim Young

The Club has lost a legend.

It is with a heavy heart that we must announce that Club legend George Dickson yesterday lost his lengthy battle against cancer and passed away peacefully. To everyone in the cricket community, George, for many years the Club groundsman, was a fixture at Hamilton Crescent, a friendly character who was never happier than watching the match and chatting with friends and players from both teams. He will be sorely missed, not only by his fellow West members, but by all who knew him.
Funeral details will be intimated shortly.

Updated 13:45 - 30 Aug 2017 by David Hinchliffe

Where next?

George's Funeral Arrangements in place.
McCrea West of Scotland are Champions West top WDCU Division One in 2017.

Comments

Loading comments

Fixtures
Mon 23 Jul
h
U16 Greenock
League 18:00
a
League 18:00
Tue 24 Jul
a
Hamilton Crescent 3rd XI Kelburne
League 18:15
Fri 27 Jul
h
U14 Greenock
League 18:00
Sat 28 Jul
h
McCrea West of Scotland Prestwick
League 12:00
a
Partick 2nd XI St Ninians
League 12:00
Sun 29 Jul
h
Development XI Helensburgh
League 13:00
Mon 30 Jul
a
League 18:00
a
League 18:00
Tue 31 Jul
h
Hamilton Crescent 3rd XI Ferguslie
League 18:15
Thu 2 Aug
a
Partick 2nd XI Weirs
Cup 18:00
Fri 3 Aug
h
League 18:00
Sat 4 Aug
a
McCrea West of Scotland Clydesdale
League 12:00
h
Partick 2nd XI Titwood
League 12:00

News sponsors

Affiliations

Club sponsors